Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world today is just so busy and crowded, we should not expect people to be polite to one another.

In the wake of urbanization, increasingly more people live in metropolises with millions of strangers residing within their locality. And many would argue that since people are busy with their lives, they no longer need to be polite to others. However, I believe otherwise for the following reasons.

First, proverbial wisdom teaches that “all for one and one for all.” If people treat others nicely, other people will do the same in return, ultimately benefiting everyone in the community. It is true that, in crowded cities, most people one runs into will be strangers. And one will rarely be able to see them anymore for the rest of one’s life. But this does not mean that smiling urbanely at other people is a terrible choice. And this is because when everyone carries a happy mood around, affecting the people they encounter that day, those people receiving the decorum will become delighted. They would then pass this positive atmosphere to people they meet, making more people feel lighthearted. And this cycle goes on, eventually making everyone, including those who initiated the virtuous circle, enjoy days filled with joyful excitement.

Second, respecting others makes one socially desirable. How one behaves shall not be determined by the environment in which one lives, which means the crowdedness or business of modern-day life can not be an excuse for indulging oneself in rudeness in social situations. The reason is that how people perceive others is primarily due to the behaviors they observe. Therefore, when they encounter impoliteness, regardless of the reasons behind it, they will deem whoever shows it ill-mannered and would, consequently, not treat them seriously in return. However, if one is always polite to others, they will think this person courteous and respectful. So, they would be more likely to have social interactions, such as befriending or offering needed assistance. With a well-received reputation, one will also be more likely to gain trust from people they socialize with, benefiting one in realistic terms. For example, employers would entrust this person with critical tasks, ensuing potential promotions.

To conclude, politely treating others lifts the mood of everyone and brings social benefits to oneself.