Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should make it possible for all children to attend preschool (early childhood education programs, for example for three-year-old children) at no cost to the children's families.

Education is the founding stone of national prosperity. Early education is a part of it and should not be an exception. From my perspective, governments should provide free preschool programs.

First, allowing children to attend preschool ensures social fairness. As living expenses soared in recent decades, having both parents working are becoming increasingly common, especially in families without a robust financial foundation. The result is that there will be no one at home accompanying young children. Children staying at home alone is unsafe because they risk hurting themselves in ways they might be unaware of. In some countries, leaving children unattended at home can even be illegal. If tuition for early childhood education programs is costly or unaffordable for some families, they might need to have one parent quit the job to stay home looking after their children. And these families that cannot afford such tuitions are most likely the ones already struck by poverty. Losing one source of income might devastate their lives, making them even more likely to remain poverty-stricken. One way to address this issue is for governments to offer free preschool education to all families so that both parents would have time to do things more meaningful to their families. These include supporting the family financially and leaving young children to be catered to and educated by professional preschool educators. By doing so, families from different social classes would have equal opportunities in this kind of education, making it socially fair.

Second, it is a government obligation to improve the well-being of everyone through appropriate means. Most preschool programs teach pragmatic abilities, such as reading skills, without which many students would find it hard to effectively grasp precise ideas behind key concepts when most courses are getting more abstruse in higher grades. With more children attending these programs, future generations will have improved academic achievement, contributing to increased labor force productivity. Consequently, when these children grow up and start their careers, they can promote national economic growth, improving the lives of everyone. These prospects, which make people’s living standards higher, are the aims of a responsible government. Therefore, the government has the incentives to pay for such educational programs. Also, government expenditure comes primarily from tax revenues collected from taxpayers. These people are representatives of all its citizens, meaning everyone directly or indirectly made financial contributions to make a country’s fiscal policy possible. Hence, directing the money to areas that can make their lives better, such as paying for preschool programs, is a government responsibility.

To conclude, offering free preschool programs ensures social equality and is the duty of a responsible government.