Some say that people should make others (important/influential people or potential employers) know about their strengths and accomplishments, otherwise they will not have successful life. What is your opinion on this statement? Explain why.

When some people have special strengths or achieve accomplishments, they would expose them directly to the public, showing other people their positive side. These people are convinced that by doing so, they would lead a successful life. However, from my standpoint, I would argue that one can also have a successful life without necessarily showing their strengths and accomplishments to other people.

First of all, becoming successful is not only dependent on one’s strength and accomplishments; rather, it is made of multiple qualities of a person, such as confidence, determination, potential, etc. These qualities are all essential for one to achieve success, which can easily be found on those successful people. Without these factors, one would face obstacles on their ways to success even if they are showing others their strengths. For example, if a person gained many rewards on math competitions, but if the person lacks determination, he/she would give up quickly if they go to higher level contests and are beaten by others, deviating from the road to ultimate success.

What is more, a person without holding many accomplishments can also achieve success. Some people do have the potential to be success, yet their abilities are simply covered or underestimated by others. Take my friend Bob as an example. He majors in cyber security and is a typical introvert who do not like showing his abilities and strengths to others. But he is definitely the most hard-working student I have ever seen in my life, because he can sit in front of the computer studying for a whole day without having a single meal. Bob was not quite known by the students in the science department without any significant achievements, but he suddenly becomes the “red person”in our university a year ago when he successfully discovered a major data breach of our university’s website, which helps the school avoid millions of dollars financial loss.

To sum up, one should not expect to become successful only through showing his strengths and accomplishments to others, since it is not the only factor involved in one’s success and people with potentials can also become successful even if they haven’t achieved any accomplishments.