Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television shows made in foreign countries are usually more interesting and popular than those made in our home countries.

Watching movies and television shows can be two of the most enjoyed entertainment options. I believe that movies or television shows produced overseas can be more entertaining and popular than domestic ones.

First, foreign movies or television programs come with exotic charm. Typically, people watch movies or television programs to entertain themselves. And since they spent most of their years in their home country, programs produced locally are likely to come with plots or values they are already familiar with, meaning these stories will seem like boring clichés. For example, they might fall asleep while watching a domestic movie out of boredom, defeating the purpose of entertaining people in the first place. However, overseas producers are likely to have different ways of looking at the world, thus would create stories that are less predictable and sometimes might even have scenes that domestic audiences have never seen before. These novelties make such movies or television programs more appealing to domestic audiences because they are likely to be more attentive while watching and would have long-lasting memories afterward.

In addition to the enjoyment of watching television or movies, people sometimes will seek more practical benefits from doing so. With the widespread use of powerful passenger aircraft, international travel has become ever-more convenient, resulting in a dramatic increase in people traveling overseas. And when people have little knowledge of a foreign culture, they might not fully enjoy themselves during their short travels there, sometimes might even get into conflicts with the locals due to cultural misunderstandings. Therefore, many people would be willing to know something about the culture of a different country before visiting it. And one easy way to do so is by watching movies from that country. Doing so allows them to have a deeper understanding of the country’s unique features and would help them better plan their trips to make them more enjoyable.

To conclude, watching overseas movies and television offers people better enjoyment and helps people know different cultures better.