Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People’s nuclear families may cast strong influences on young people’s decision-making. However, I believe that young people today are more in control of decisions made in their lives than young people in the past.

First, young people today are less reliant on their parents financially. Nowadays, most countries offer compulsory education to people at affordable prices, allowing almost everyone to get some education. And the qualifications and academic certificates they get in educational institutions would give them better chances of passing job interviews. Hence, allowing them to have jobs that could support themselves. And they could therefore have the money to pay for the things they want, instead of asking their parents for help. However, people in the past might be unaware of the importance of education or could not afford to go to universities. So, many of them were illiterate and could not find decent jobs. As a result, many young people had to receive monetary aid from their parents, even if they become adults. And if they wanted to have this money, they would not dare to offend their parents who are paying for such money. Therefore, young people in the past were less able to decide on their own lives than young people today for monetary reasons.

Second, the social structure allows young people to live away from their families, reducing the influence of their parents. Typically, many young people would go to universities away from their hometowns, seeking better educational resources or novelty in a city they like. When they graduate, they would likely stay in the same place and find a job there because they have spent most of their adult life there and are more familiar with this city. Also, their social connections are mainly in that city, meaning it would make sense for them to stay there if they want to keep those social contacts. The result is that their parents would not live with them, making it hard for the parents to exert influence on young people’s decision-making. Yet, people in the past did not have many choices about where to live. Many would spend their entire life in the place where they grew up, and sometimes even living with their parents until later into their adulthood. This intimacy made it much easier for their parents to offer guidance to their children, affecting their decision-making.

To conclude, young people today are more able to make decisions about their lives than young people in the past because they are economically more independent and live away from their parents.