Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

You should always state your honest opinion even when you know that most other people disagree with your point of view.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the wake of modernization, many people now live closely together in big cities, making it even more necessary for people to socialize with others. From my perspective, consistently expressing one’s honest opinions brings social benefits, even though sometimes others might disagree with these opinions.

First, being honest when communicating with people can show that one is trustworthy. Everyone is different, meaning disagreements among people are inevitable during social interactions. Therefore, many fear the consequences of expressing different views - it may cause conflict or create tension during conversations. As a result, they may conceal their true feelings to show that their opinions align with everyone else. Most of the time, this approach will not be problematic. But if this happens frequently, others will eventually discover their insincerity, undermining their trust. A relatively rational choice is to tell other people one’s true thoughts regardless of whether these views will conflict with other people or not. The reason is that most people would understand that different people think differently. Hence, they would accept the differences. And when they realize that one always communicates honest opinions, they will be more likely to trust this person, resulting in potential benefits. For example, when employers find that their employees always speak boldly without worrying about offending them, they would value these employees more because they are capable of thinking independently. Since independent minds will likely possess individual initiative, boosting their problem-solving skills, they will be entrusted with valuable and critical tasks, helping with their career developments.

Second, telling others one’s true feelings strengthens relationships. The point of interacting with others is to exchange ideas. So, if for whatever concerns one cannot express one’s genuine thoughts, others will not be able to know what one thinks. Serious conversations in which one can communicate profound ideas with others are rare, so if one forfeits the chances of letting others know about them better, their mutual understandings will remain superficial, contributing little to improving interpersonal relationships. Moreover, people are more likely to have serious conversations when holding conflicting views. And this is because they will have different perspectives regarding the same issue. When they can exchange their ideas sincerely, each will have the chance to know about the facets they might have overlooked. For instance, when two persons talk about reducing carbon emissions, one argues that all nations must share this responsibility evenly because environmental conditions affect everyone. At the same time, the other person believes wealthier nations need to contribute more, given that people from less developed countries face even worse problems, such as famine or not having access to clean drinking water. When knowing the genuine views of each other, the two can have a more comprehensive understanding of the issues discussed. And this mutual gain in cognition will help them appreciate one another more, enhancing their relationships.

To conclude, honestly expressing opinions will win the trust of others and strengthen interpersonal relationships.