You should always state your honest opinion even when you know that most other people disagree with your point of view

Nowadays, with the development of personal independence, people are braver to express their true feelings and opinions. Recently, there is a heated debate on whether individuals should state their honest thoughts even though most other people disagree, some people claim that people should be in accordance with most people. As for me, I believe that we should always say our honest opinion out, especially considering the benefits to people’s personality and group’s improvement.

Firstly, being honest all the time is more likely to bring inner peace, especially when one encounters prevalent objections. This is because, when a person thinks differently from most people, it usually means that the idea may be more their true thoughts, but not consistent with social norms, like having a stable job or building a family not too late, that the society expects us to be. Thus, being brave and making your thoughts known helps clarify who you are, and what you truly want to do in the future. Take me for example, when I wanted to quit my job as a teacher and started my own business last year, almost all my family members and friend express their concern and suggested I think twice. The reason is obvious----being a teacher enjoys a stable income and a decent status, which cannot be ensured by building my own career, particularly when the general economic environment is bad. Patiently listening to them listing pros and cons, I was determined to do my career, because I know what truly motivated me was to create anything that I value most rather than to follow others’ instructions without meticulous examinations. In the end, I told my family my real thoughts, surprisingly, when I made my ideas clear, I found that my family was not as opposed to them at first, and I was more firmly committed to working for my choice.

Furthermore, people stating their real ideas can help a group or a teacher to find out their flaws and also provide some fresh thoughts. To be specific, some people just follow teachers or authorities blindly, even though they make some mistakes, people believe them with all their heart instead of thinking critically and pointing it out, which is quite harmful to the teachers, schools, and even societies’ improvement. For example, when I was in college, I took a class called Art History, the teacher was talking about the artist Matisse, and introduced us to some normal facts about him. However, when I appreciated his work, I found a strong relationship between his work and music, which was not mentioned in the teacher’s lecture. As a result, I stated my opinion in class, and the teacher and most of my classmates thought I was trying to steal the spotlight. Nevertheless, after searing for related resources to back the statement, figuring out every thought that may call into question, and sorting ideas into a logical way, at last, I gave a lecture about the topic that music have strong effects on Matisse’s painting, with all my research information, the teacher and classmates were impressed. This fresh idea also provided us with a new point of view on understanding Matisse’s artworks.

In conclusion, from what has been discussed above, I still maintain that people should state their true thoughts even though most people oppose them.