Do you agree or disagree: The rapid growth of cities has a mostly positive impact on the development of the society.

With the dramatic development of the economy, numerous villages have turned into cities. Recently, there is a heated debate on the influence of cities' fast growth on the the society. As for me, I believe that the fast growth of cities has an advantageous effect on the development of the society, especially considering the benefits of social stability and technological advancement.

To start with, with the economic growth of cities, some homeless people could be employed and have a place to live, which will largely lead to a stable society. In detail, the government needs to build considerable infrastructure, and this provides plenty of jobs for vagrants. Take my hometown Chongqing for example, ten years ago, Chongqing used to have a great number of homeless people who wandered on the streets with nothing to do. Once I saw two tramps fighting just over a piece of bread that had been thrown on the ground, and because of these people as well as the street fight, residents were afraid to go out for a walk at night. Recently, with the city's improvement, many facilities like power stations, subway, railway, and airports have been required, so the lack of labor force gives these homeless people a chance to have a reliable job and be able to support their life. As a result, fewer people are living on the street, and people are not scared of going out at night, which creates a safe and stable social environment. This turns the society into a more beautiful place of harmony and stability.

What is more, urban development enables the better application of technological achievements in life. To be more exact, this allows the government to make use of its abundant resources and manpower to create innovative products and tools to make our lives more comfortable and convenient. For instance, these days, people who are living in the city find it convenient when make payments. Once, I was in a hurry to buy breakfast on my way to school, and I just realized that I forgot to take cash with me when I was about to pay. Fortunately, with mobile payment on my phone, I only needed to scan it to pay successfully, which not only avoided my embarrassing situation but also let me never worry about forgetting to bring cash again. Clearly, the technological improvement generated by city growth has fundamentally changed people's way of living.

Admittedly, there do exist some factors that can contribute to the opposing viewpoint, because this would generate some environmental pollution problems. However, as long as the public's awareness of environmental protection is cultivated, recyclable materials are used, and relevant environmental policies are introduced, pollution will no longer be an obstacle. Therefore, in general, the development of cities has more advantages than disadvantages for the development of the society.

In conclusion, after weighing all the related factors, I am confident to maintain that the rapid growth of cities has a mostly positive impact on the development of the society.