Do you agree or disagree: The rapid growth of cities has a mostly positive impact on the development of the society.

In this era when the development of society has become a considerable concern for many, whether the rapid growth of cities impact society positively becomes a salient issue. I firmly disagree that the rapid growth of cities has mostly a positive impact on the development of society.

First, the rapid growth of cities contributes more to the rapid growth of population, which has some negative impacts on the development of society. Since the population is fast expanding, it brings on some harsh phenomena like traffic congestion, reduction of resources, and decreasing happiness. For example, my cousin graduated from Shanghai College last year, and she could not afford the high price of a single house, so she had to rent a primitive apartment in the suburb. It is no surprising that she had to get up at 5 am and drive almost 3 hours to make it in time for work because of the terrible traffic congestion. After finishing work, it would be about 10 pm when reaches home. If cities had not had rapid growths, resulting in competition for limited resources, people like my cousin would not be so exhausted. Clearly, the rapid growth of cities is not mostly positive for society.

In addition, the air condition decreases hastily because with the rapid growth of cities, the number of private cars also increases, thus engendering pollution. For instance, in metropolises like Beijing, with numerous automobiles and factories emitting large amounts of carbon dioxide, sulfur dioxide, or nitrogen monoxide into the atmosphere, haze has become a frequent problem, causing serious illnesses. In fact, a survey conducted by Peking University shows that metropolitan people who suffer from lung illness increased 33% in the last 5 years, and over 10,000 people die because of lung cancer caused by PM 2.5. If the growth of cities is more gradual, air condition could be preserved, and a more positive impact would be felt by society.

To some extent, rapid growth of cities does provide more employment and improves economy. However, it simultaneously accelerates immigration from rural areas to urban areas, and investment in rural areas would decrease, making this area somewhat deserted. Therefore, the rapid growth of cities cannot be concluded as mostly affecting society positively.

To conclude, I disagree that the rapid growth of cities affects society mostly in a positive manner.