Do you agree or disagree with the statement:It is better to make friends who are intelligent than with a good sense of humor.

Friends, the foundation of social life, has been valued and triggers a heated discussion over whether it is better to make friends who are intelligent than with a good sense of humor. It is not surprising that some people, if not majority, may therefore argued that to make intelligent friends is better, while in contrast, I disagree with it and it is my central argument that making friends who with a good sense of humor is better.

The first reason for my argument is that a friend who has a good sense of humor could reconcile more easily with another who has argument with him or her. This is because one who has a good sense of humor speaks with more quips and jests, which may quickly crack the embarrassment between them. For example, I have a harsh controversy with my best friend Tom about which programming language is the best in last year. I held the point that Python is the best because of its light-weight and powerful community while Tom thought C++ is the best because of its well structure, and we got a hot disputation so that we even refused to meet each other for three days. However, he melted the ice between us by a smart joke, which he said that we could create a new programming language which contained both advantages of Python and C++ together. In this case, without the humorous words, me and Tom would not reconcile as easily as then. That is to say, humorous friend could more easily to eliminate displeasure caused by argument.

What is more, humorous friend could help one get out of the depression. When one is in depression, one could be pessimistic and ineffective, and some jokes which made by humorous friend could alleviate that. For instance, my friend Jack got a last prize in the final exam at senior high school, which is making him dejected. His friend encouraged him that “either first prize or last prize are the no.1 except the sequence, what you have to do is to upside down that sequence”, which was cheer him up a lot. As a result, after a few mouths endeavor, Jack succeeded change the sequence of prize and got the first prize in subsequent final exam. If his friend had not given a humorous words when he failed in exam, possibly he might still in depression, and he could not rally in a second and get a superb performance in followed exam. Accordingly, this is the important reason for me to advocate that making friend with a good sense of humor is better.

Admittedly, there might be some possibilities that intelligent friend could be more helpful when working on some academic project. For example, when one is stuck with some problems in project, an intelligent friend may help to solve them, which will certainly make both happy. However, intelligent friend may be frank, which may render a misunderstanding.

To conclude, due to the reasons that a friend with a good sense of humor could reconcile more easily and help one get out of the depression, I have to maintain that making friends who with a good sense of humor is better.