technology designed to make our life simpler actually makes our life more complicated

With science and technology developing at breakneck speed, so much has become sophisticated and has made modern people convoluted. A heated discussion over the issue of whether technology designed to make our life simpler actually makes our life more complicated comes into the spotlight of the public. This article sets out to support my agreement with the statement with these following reasons.

In the first place, my priority point of view is that the overuse of certain technologies has made our life more complicated. Automobile technologies designed to make our life more convenient have brought us more serious side effects, the most significant one of which is the traffic jam. For example, the average speed of common automobiles on the highway can be over 120km per hour, which was supposed to save a large amount of time for people on the road when they were designed. However, what my sister, Lucy, is experiencing in Beijing is the traffic congestion, which is always so heavy that people need to spend about two hours covering 20 kilometers, especially during rush hours. Lucy's life has become less convenient because she has to get up 5 a.m. to make sure the she will not be late for work starting at 8:30 a.m. Every day sge comes back home at 9 p.m., so she does not even have the time to cook dinner by herself. This simple example has illustrated the complexity and inconvenience technology has brought, which was designed to make our life simpler at first.

What is more, the other viewpoint I would like to suggest is that a lack of law and regulations regarding technologies has caused complex problems. The environment pollution is another aspect that technology has made our life more complicated, in the name of making it simpler. It could be given a concrete example of plastic bag. When plastic bags were put into use, they did bring much convenience. People need not always take bags with themselves when they are going shopping because merchants would give them plastic bags for free, which were brought light and clean. However, without enough regulations, people threw them away anywhere, and there were even plastic bags being found in the stomachs of fish and whales. Plastic bags have caused serious water and soil pollution because it takes hundreds of years for them to decompose, which pose a threat to the food security and human health. That is why I maintain that technologies have made life more complicated rather than simpler.

Admittedly, someone holds an opposite opinion that technology has made communication more convenient, and thus contributes to a simpler life. For instance, with instant messaging programs such as MSN and QQ, the Internet has allowed people to talk to their friends who are far away from them for free. However, it has also led to all kinds of high-tech crimes, and poses great challenges to the police. In consequence, science and technologies are double-edged swords, which would always make our life more complicated.

In conclusion, judging from the demonstrations above, I would claim that the disadvantages of the development of technology far outweigh its advantages, which means technology designed to make our life simpler has actually made our life more complicated.