Some people prefer to go shopping in a big supermarket. Some people prefer to go shopping in small stores near the community.

Which do you prefer? Explain why.

The specialization of labor brought convenience to modern life by having the most productive people produce goods or services that they have a comparative advantage in doing. Thus, shopping has become a daily need for modern people. And I believe shopping in supermarkets is preferable to buying things in small stores.

First, supermarkets offer relatively more affordable prices. Nowadays, most people buy, instead of produce, almost everything they need, from food and clothing to medicine or home appliances. These items can cost a large sum of money from a long-term perspective. Consequently, many people would be sensitive about price differences. Empirical evidence suggests that supermarkets sell the same products at lower prices than corner stores. The reason for this is that supermarkets are selling large volumes of goods, meaning they would be able to have wholesale suppliers offering them goods at lower prices in the first place, making the goods they sell cheaper in return. Also, many supermarkets have freight departments systematically using large trucks to restock their empty shelves. On the other hand, most small shops can only hire individual trucks running by another company to meet their restocking needs, incurring additional expenditure. As a result, supermarkets can lower their expenses, which, in turn, reduces the price they charge to customers.

Second, shopping in a supermarket can be more efficient than in a smaller store. Although people make purchases almost every day, many would avoid shopping multiple times in a given day. Smaller shops are just not big enough to offer a large variety of goods - many of them only sell daily necessities, like food or drinks. But if people also need things such as bicycles or kitchenware, they might have to go to other specialty stores, causing too much time unnecessarily spent shopping. However, at supermarkets, people can find a wide range of goods available, allowing them to buy everything needed in just one trip. Moreover, since supermarkets have more merchandise on display, people can have the chance to compare similar products of different brands with relative ease. Doing this helps them make more economical or better-informed purchasing decisions and avoids the trouble of going to multiple small shops to make price or other comparisons.

To conclude, shopping in a supermarket is better than in small stores because the former is more economical and convenient.