Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Many countries are paying attention to environmental problems. But the attention is not making the environmental situations better.

Environmental problems are causing many global issues plaguing the life of almost everyone. From my perspective, although many countries are well aware of these and have taken measures accordingly, the overall environmental situation is still deteriorating.

First, it is difficult for global governance to reach consistent or equitable consensuses. For issues as far-reaching and intricate as environmental protection, international collaboration is key to ensuring successful implementations of policies that can bring positive outcomes. The reason is that if some countries enforce stringent regulations to conserve nature, but other countries pay no attention to controlling the emission of pollutants, environmental conditions would still deteriorate. Moreover, even if global cooperations are in place to some extent, there are possible dilemmas. For example, some countries might backtrack their environmental policies due to a change in the ruling party, forfeiting the efforts made by their predecessors. Or, assigning responsibilities to countries equally regardless of their economic or population difference might cause unfairness, thus undermining the long-term stability of the consensus reached by member countries. These factors will make environmental management less likely to be persistent in yielding fruitful outcomes.

Second, given the intricate nature of environmental problems, approaches aimed at reducing them can be ineffective. Most of these problems are intertwined, and attempts to tackle them can cause unexpected, or even unnoticed, consequences. For instance, when a government decides to plant some greenery to revert a desolated place into arable land, irrigation will use an excessive amount of water. And this water might be pumped from underground reservoirs in surrounding areas, causing survival pressures on vegetation there. When this goes unnoticed for some time, the ecology of the surrounding areas might become off-balanced. Even if the government can take immediate actions to prevent the situation from becoming out of control, these areas have already suffered from aridity, and their environment might never fully recover. Issues like this make it improbable for environmental governance to have designated effects.

To conclude, environmental situations will worsen because the needed international collaborations are unstable in the long term, and the complexity of environmental issues makes their treatments unlikely to be effective throughout.