Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People should take time to relax with hobbies or physical activities that are very different from what they do at work.

Almost everyone in this stressful society has some hobbies to entertain themselves. I believe relaxing with activities different from what people do at work is a rational choice.

First, relaxing with activities different from work brings social benefits. Most people would stay in a company for years, and their colleagues or clients are relatively fixed, meaning the range of social backgrounds of people they socialize with will be limited. And during their free time, doing things similar to what they do at work will likely bring them new acquaintances from similar walks of life compared to people they know at work, making their social contacts less diversified. However, if they can develop hobbies different from work, they can meet people from other sectors. For example, if freelancing artists decide to spend time camping during the weekends, they will be able to befriend programmers working at internet companies or athletes from professional teams. And these new friends will be able to share perspectives that they might have never thought about expanding their horizons. Also, if they are ever in need, it will be more likely that their new friends will be of assistance in ways that their co-workers or clients cannot, such as solving computer malfunctions or offering workout advice.

Second, doing activities differently from work in people’s spare time makes people healthier. Most occupations require employees to perform particular tasks repetitively, and a long time doing so develops chronic conditions that may make people suffer. For example, office clerks might spend hours sitting in front of computers in fixed positions, causing shoulder or lower back pains. And if they choose to kill time in front of computers, their symptoms might deteriorate. On the other hand, if they opt for pastimes like swimming, their body would get stretched and relaxed, alleviating the pressure placed on their spines, and ultimately improving their physical health. Moreover, most people work under stress, especially during times of economic crisis. Regardless of how diligent they are, many would fear losing their jobs. As a result, it is not rare to see employees who suffer from mental problems. But if they can participate in entertainment activities different from their jobs, they can divert their attention to more enjoyable endeavors making them less worried about their occupations.

To conclude, relaxing with activities different from work allows people to diversify their social connections and improves their health.