Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All scientific discoveries should be shared among scientists all around the world; governments and businesses should not keep any discoveries secret.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Science is one of the most critical driving forces that promotes human welfare and social advancement. Many would argue that scientific discoveries should be available to all scientists. However, from my perspective, not publicly sharing them is more beneficial.

First, financial incentives keep the field of science advancing fast. A common practice about scientific discoveries today is that if someone discovers something and has the findings patented, legal regulations will protect this discovery from being exploited by other parties, especially potential business competitors, for a certain amount of time. This protection allows the inventors to either receive a sizable license fee by authorizing others the right to use their inventions or commercialize their ideas themselves. For example, Thomas Edison was made wealthy for his discoveries in practical applications of electricity. Role models like him continually encourage people to devote their lives to scientific research for the love of science and the hope of being financially awarded. However, requiring all scientific discoveries to be publicized to other scientists means using others' findings might be free of charge. As a result, fewer people will invest time-consuming and laborious efforts in research since others will use their discoveries for free. This weakened financial incentive will result in slower scientific progress, eventually making everyone worse off.

Second, keeping some sensitive discoveries confidential can avoid potential misuse. Although most scientific findings make lives easier, some can be detrimental if not used under proper guidance. For instance, only a limited number of countries now possess the ability to build hydrogen bombs, but no one condemns them as being selfish. The reason is that secrets like this can be used for mass destruction and will bring catastrophic consequences when terrorists acknowledge the technology behind this weaponry. Similarly, some biochemical reactions can make producing drugs possible even in small workshops, meaning homemade drugs will flood the world when drug dealers learn the production process. Applying scientific discoveries for these wrongful intents will yield devastating results that no sane people wish to see. In other words, not only should governments not share this information with random people, but they had better implement laws or regulations to eliminate the possibility that potentially destructive scientific findings will end up in the wrong hands.

To conclude, not unselectively sharing scientific discoveries brings financial incentives and avoids misuse.