Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In modem times, parents learn more from their children than children learn from their parents.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the wake of modernization, society has become ever-more complex, bringing many changes to people’s daily lives. From my perspective, parents today learn more from their children than children from their parents.

First, the complexity of modern life makes children more likely to be well-suited to it than their parents. Empirical evidence suggests that people will become less able to adapt to social changes as they age. On the other hand, almost every day, children expose themselves to outside stimuli and accept new ways of life. For example, most young people today embrace the convenience of electronic payments. It is not rare to see young people using smartphones to buy subway tickets or pay for groceries in corner stores. However, for their parent generation, it can be difficult to fathom the charm of electronic money, especially when they often find it hard to use different smartphone applications. So, in many homes, children are the ones who lecture their parents on how to use electronic money with smartphones, guiding them through the seemingly puzzling user interfaces of cellphone applications. And this is only one facet showing how children are more sophisticated in adapting to emerging lifestyles. In other scenarios, such as going to theme parks or playing video games, which their parents are not so familiar with, children tend to share their experiences with their parents too.

Second, children can have wide-ranging perspectives compared to their parents. Most parents are full-time employees with relatively stable incomes to support their families. For this stability to last, their employments need to be long-lasting, which means they tend to work for the same company in the same industry for many years. The result is that they will likely narrow their perspectives since their colleges and clients are from similar walks of life. The news they hear and the information they process may largely confine to what is related to their field of expertise. Therefore, when they communicate with one another, their opinions are likely to be uniform, making them less likely to be aware of the feeling and thoughts of people with different social backgrounds. The situation is different for their children. Their classmates at grade schools, middle schools, and colleges will come from families from all walks of life. During every schoolday, these young children can share their experiences, preferences, opinions, and even cultural traditions with other children, making every child a little expert in the diversity of human thoughts. When these children go home, they can share stories and perspectives that their parents will never be able to encounter in their social circles.

To conclude, parents learn from their children more in life experiences and knowledge about different perspectives.