Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Younger school children (ages five to ten) should be required to study art and music in addition to math, language, science, and history.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Primary school education is one of the founding blocks of a nation's prosperity. I believe young school children do not need to learn art or music in addition to math, language, science, and history.

First, although cultivating artistic tastes brings people spiritual satisfaction, spending time on compulsory courses, such as math, language, science, and history, can benefit young school children more profoundly. As human life expectancy increases, fewer people will leave the workforce and vacate their positions. But at the same time, there will constantly be people entering the workforce, making competition increasingly fierce by year. And this means that people today should demonstrate more appealing qualities to their potential employers to acquire the jobs they want. These desirable qualities are mainly associated with studying at higher-ranking universities. Since many students want to enter those universities, their entrance examinations can be selective. Students will need to solve more complicated questions to show that they meet their academic standards, which would have little to do with their aesthetic tastes. But if young students can devote more time to studying their core courses, they will have better chances of entering popular middle schools with more experienced teachers. Having better teachers teaching them, they could be more likely to pass university entrance examinations. Hence, ultimately acquiring degree certificates that are more desirable to prospective employees.

Second, even if young students have spare time, it can be better utilized on things that will make them healthier. Many young students already suffer from health problems, such as spinal curvature disorders and obesity. These health issues would cause many inconveniences to their daily activities and sometimes even threaten their lives. One common cause is that young students do not spend enough time doing sports. Sitting in fixed positions for prolonged periods, which is commonplace during an art or music class, places excessive pressure on the neck and the lower back, causing pain in the spine and sometimes leading to spinal deformities. Also, empirical evidence suggests that sitting too much positively correlates to obesity, which is one of the major killers of people today. To avoid such problems, students can use their spare time to do more sports because running and jumping around allows them to stretch their bodies, relaxing their backbone. The calories burnt during exercises also reduce energy stored as fat, making them less likely to become overweight.

To conclude, young children do not need to take art or music courses in addition to their compulsory courses because they do not bring career benefits or make them healthy.