Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People can learn as much by watching movies as they can learn by reading books.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Learning is a lifelong process that can benefit almost every member of society. Different people have different preferences when it comes to learning. From my perspective, reading books provides better learning experiences than watching movies.

First, although people can encounter something new from movies, it is an inefficient learning medium compared to reading books. One of the factors explaining their differences can be the setting. Most people watch movies in movie theaters with dark lighting and loud sounds, making them hard to concentrate on meaningful things. Not to mention that their friends might be accompanying them, talking from time to time. Distractions like these make proper learning out of the question. For example, the only thing left in people’s minds days after a movie might be how the actors look or the background music. However, if people choose to read books, they will find it much easier to focus. The reason is that reading happens in quiet environments, such as bedrooms, libraries, or study areas. These noise-free places allow people to focus their minds on things that need time and effort to comprehend without being interrupted, helping them learn faster and harder.

Second, watching movies deprives people of the chance of creative thinking. Movies today have fanciful special effects that can distort the boundary between fantasy and reality. These effects can ensure enjoyable viewing experiences but may hinder people’s learning abilities. To be precise, when people have enough visual stimuli, they will stop envisioning the events themselves. As a result, watching movies makes it hard for people to practice their imagination, weakening their creative thinking abilities. Contrarily, books only provide written details, which means people will almost always need to think about the scenarios described in books solely on their understanding of the written description. During this process, they will inevitably need to recall information they have stored earlier and apply it to the scenario described in the books. Remembering and using already learned knowledge can enhance memory and make newly attained knowledge from books an integral part of their knowledge system, ultimately improving learning quality.

To conclude, learning from books is more efficient and quality than from movies.