Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take at least one course that teachers them the culture of other countries.

There are many different cultures out there, and some can be fascinating. However, I believe that university students shall not be required to take courses learning about cultures of other countries.

Although knowing about different cultures can be interesting, there are many more urgent issues for a university student to face. For example, poverty-stricken students might find moonlighting to financially support their families much more valuable than learning about foreign customs. College tuition and ever-rising living expenses can place much burden on people today, making seeking novelty or sating curiosity during a foreign culture class luxurious and out of practice. Also, many senior students are using internship opportunities to pave the way for their future career development. The reason is that after graduation, they will immediately face fierce competition among their peers to get the jobs they want. And when they are in an interview, previous internship experiences can offer them a much-needed edge over other candidates. Both activities help students in more pragmatic and profound ways than taking culture lessons, which brings no direct benefit to them.

Furthermore, students are already busy with their coursework, and they would not have the leisure to take culture classes. For example, they will need to complete assignments, attend tutorials and prepare for exams. Performing satisfactorily in these academic activities is the core requirement for them to graduate, and they can take up a large chunk of a student’s time. Today, we frequently see students suffer from health problems caused by deprived sleep. For them, taking culture courses would worsen their already tight time budget, placing higher risks on their health conditions. Even if they can squeeze out some time for themselves, they can better utilize this scarce free time for recreation. And with sufficient rest or entertainment, they can complete their academic tasks more efficiently and become physically and mentally healthier. Hence, spending time on culture courses is not an efficient or healthy choice for university students.

In conclusion, taking courses on foreign cultures is impractical and wastes their precious time.