Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? For students, the ability to listen well is as important as the ability to read well

Many people debate whether it is more important for students to have excellent reading ability or to hone their listening skills. Personally, I think that listening skills are just as important for students as reading skills. My opinion is based on reasons that I will go into detail on in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, students are taught using a variety of m ethods. Teachers make use of traditional textbooks and lectures, as well as technology, such as videos and audio recordings. Not only are we expected to read but to listen to a variety of audio sources. While the use of captions makes it easier to understand what the speaker is saying in videos, this is not possible with audio recordings and oral presentations. Because of this, students need to pay attention to discern words of a lecture, especially if the speaker has an accent. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this point. I studied in a foreign country in a school where we have teachers from all over the world. This meant I had to pay close attention to the words being spoken to understand the speech, as almost all the teachers had an accent, all of which differed from the other.

Furthermore, students should be able to follow along with the lecture. Understanding the words alone is not enough. They should be able to relate to prior knowledge and make connections with points previously covered in the lecture in order to fully grasp the concepts. To illustrate, during my earlier years in school I used to simply jot down parts of the lesson without paying particular attention to what was being taught. This meant that I had to reread my notes at a later time along with the textbook to understand the subject matter. However, ever since I have decided to drop this habit and simply listen to what is being taught, I can relate the oral lesson to previous knowledge and recall what was taught earlier. This ultimately led me to understand the lesson far better than before.

In short, I believe that both reading and listening skills are required if a student wishes to learn effectively. This is because education is delivered through both audio and visual mediums. Being able to interpret the lecture as it is being given is just as important as comprehending the text one is reading.