Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no denying that teachers and friends both play vital roles in our students’ lives because teachers impart useful knowledge and friends bring us much pleasure. Some individuals believe that friends make a bigger difference than teachers since friends are the people who know us pretty well. Is that true? My answer is definitely negative and I firmly hold the opinion that we students are more influenced by teachers than by friends.

One of the chief reasons why teachers have more profound influence over students is that students have natural faith in teachers, which means our teachers shape our values, views on life and world outlooks. A good example to illustrate this would be my own experience. When I was in primary school, one of my classmates, Jack, was the victim of a class bully. To the best of my recollection, he was constantly pointed and laughed at owing to his obesity, poverty and untidiness. Our class teacher neglected his suffering, for she disliked Jack who did poorly in academics. Once Jack complained to the head teacher about being bullied in our class, we thought we would be punished, but it turned out that the teacher asked him to reflect on himself. As a result, no one gave a hand to Jack. He transferred to a new school at last.

Secondly, teachers are more learned and experienced, which explains why they can view things from a different angle and give students some advice that can be highly enlightening, thereby affecting students’ lives. For instance, I always consult my teachers for advice when encountering problems or setbacks in life, and they never let me down. However, it’s a different picture when it comes to asking friends for help. Because we are at the same age, they can’t be more mature and they can’t give us the help we need.

To sum up, based on what has been stated above, I suppose we have good reasons to draw the conclusion that it is teachers rather than friends that have greater influence on students.