Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Students should be encouraged to take courses like science, technology, engineering and math that are likely to lead to job opportunities rather than subjects they might be interested in.

Whether students should choose courses that could lead to job opportunities is a good question. Some people state that taking courses that are easy to find jobs could lead to a better future, therefore students should be encouraged to take these courses. However, from my point of view, I think students should actually choose the courses that they are interested in.

To begin with, if all students are encouraged to choose courses that could to better job opportunities, some of them will have a disgusting feeling about these subjects. In the long run, students may probably lose their interest in study because the subject they choose are the ones that confusing them a lot. For some liberal art students, they are interest are in reading historical books, writing articles about philosophy and talking about autobiography of some celebrities. Asking them to do experiment, having a lot of calculations would even be chores and study burdens for them. As a result, they would rather use their times on the playground or on the Internet, instead of wasting time on learning subjects that are not suitable for study.

In addition, if all students entering courses that could offer great opportunities for occupation, this may create a burden for the whole society. Large number of students only choosing majors that could find jobs easily would cause the problem of the uneven profession division in the community. The unbalance of the occupational distribution would lead to the cease of the economic growth and even disintegration of the social system. Lacking of human resource to do jobs in the fields of agriculture and service would hinder the advancement of the society.

Therefore, different students should choose different courses in order for the sustainable development of the nation.

In conclusion, based on the reasons that studying courses that could lead to better job opportunities could cause the problem of making some of the students feeling tired of learning and impeding the development of the whole society, letting students to choose courses that they are interest in may be a sound choice.