Government should not provide financial support to artists (For example, painters, writer, musicians …), and the government should let them support themselves.

With the rapid growth of the society, people have more choices to live a life they want. Some of them choose to become artists which cannot earn much money. Some people think that government should not provide financial support to artists. However, from my point of view, I think it is unreasonable to give out such a statement.

To begin with, many artists nowadays cannot by get much money from selling the artwork to support their family or even themselves. To be more specific, there are always some buskers playing music or painting on the graffitiing wall at the street corner. Many people cannot understand their art style and may think them like beggars and stragglers asking for money on the street. They cannot win respect from others and could only earn a little money. In other people’s eyes, they are just crazy and worthy for sympathy.

In addition, sometimes it takes artists a lot of time to sell out their artworks, during that time their life cannot be guaranteed and could only be supported by the government. For instance, there was once a senior in my school who studied art. After graduated from the university, she opened her own painting art studio with her in New York. Her artworks are really great in many professionals’ eyes, but cannot be understand by local citizens easily. Hence, not many people come to her shop to buy her artworks. She waits a lot of time, for about 3 months, but finally this piece of artwork was exhibited by an art museum. Thanks to the funding of the government, her life in these three months was guaranteed.

In a nutshell, based on the reasons that some are recognized by people as beggars who cannot win much respect from others and it takes a long time to sell out a wonderful artwork, I strongly agree that government should provide financial support to artists in order to guarantee their life.