Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Students should be encouraged to take courses like science technology engineering and math that are likely to lead to job opportunities rather than subjects they might be interested in

In this high competitive world, how to find a ideal job is the number one problem, especially for those new graduates. It has never fail to arouse public concerns and at the same time provoke a hot debate about whether students should take more practical courses rather than follow their hearts. It's hard to deny the fact that people who master more specific skills tend to have better jobs thus some are inclined to be strong believers that learning other classes is a waste of time. Such a claim has both factual and logical fallacies and need to be examined meticulously. Accordingly, I, without hesitation, advocate that students should have the right to explore their interests. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will elaborate on in the following passage.

First of one, by learning things they really like, students are more likely to have better development, as they definitely feel more motivated. No one can deny that learning your favorite subject is more exciting. It's beneficial for students if they can dive into their favorite subjects and have a better understanding of the material. Even their favorites are necessarily relevant to the core skill that job market want, hard work and persistence developed in this period is universally appreciated, thus they will never be wasted. In contrast, if your parents force you to learn some lessons on the purpose of finding a better job, you probably become more rebellious and even hate study at all.

Second, the fact that people will pay more attention to their interests indicates that students should study subjects they really like. It's true that technology knowledge is important, but if someone who have little interest take the class, they still cannot have a better grasp of this subject. Take the case of myself, my parents once asked me to take one semester's math afterschool class, as they believe it's the type of skill that company will pay attention to, thus bring more job opportunities for me. However, I cannot generate any interest to this subject and this semester become extremely tedious and painful to me, which made me hard to focus on the lectures. In the end, after this semester, I dropped the class as soon as possible. Had it not been for this experience, I would never understand how hard for students to attend a class that they dislike.

Nevertheless, a voice arouses that mastering certain skills is more appealing in job market. Ironically, it's only helpful in certain areas and cannot be overly applied to every fields without understand the diversity of the world.

Considering all the arguments and examples given above, we can safely draw the conclusion that it's helpful for young people to study courses based on their interests.