Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Children should spend most of their time on studying and playing and they shouldn t be required to help family with household chores such as cleaning and cooking

The household chore is an important part of our daily lives and an opportunity for younger family members to practice certain life skills. It has never failed to arouse public concerns and at the same time provoke a hot debate about whether children should learn to do household chores. It's hard to deny that spending more time in the study will improve their academic performances. Such a fact leads impressionable people to be strong believers in the extreme claim that children shouldn't do chores at all. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. Accordingly, I, without hesitation, advocate that it's necessary for children to participate in chores. I feel this way for two reasons.

First of all, it's beneficial for children's development, as these chores require kids to master certain life skills. To be clear, having a better understanding of how to do chores will improve their independence and have long-term benefits in their future lives. Furthermore, in the long term, when they have to leave school and live by themselves, the knowledge of cooking or cleaning allows them to have better control of their lives, as they can cook and clean for themselves without relying on other people. It helps them to form a perfect balance between life and work.

Second, the fact that kids are inclined to be more grateful for their parents' work indicates that we should require them to do household. Take the case of myself, I used to be the typical kid who know nothing about the hardness of doing chores, however, when my mom persuaded me to do these chores with her, I started to understand how much effort one has to devote to give family members a nice life condition. Thus I become more grateful for my parents. Had it not been for my mother's persuasion, I would never realize all the effort and learned to appreciate their hard work.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that children can have extra time to study and enable them to have better grades if they are free from chores. Ironically, life is a long journey and academic performance is not everything. More time to study can help them pass exams but does not help them to live independently in this world. Therefore, allowing them to do chores is the true solution for children's development.

Considering all the examples and arguments given above, we can safely say that doing chores can provide more benefits for children because it enables children to learn certain skills and make them grateful for their parents.