Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Students who keep their rooms neat and organized will be more likely to succeed than students who do not

There is an old proverb in Chinese saying that a person who cannot keep his own floor of the room clean also cannot keep a country well-organized. Many people won't present any disagreement with it. However, I don't agree with this. It seems like a person's cleaning ability can make him more successful than those who do not.

To begin with, students who keep their room not neat and tidy sometimes means that they are more creative, which is also a key to success. According to an analysis conducted by a group of social scientists at Harvard, they did a long-durational experiment for two groups of students. One is the students who usually manage their room tidy and organized, the other is the students with the opposite. They found that compared with the students from "neat and tidy" groups, the disorganized students showed more interest in the subjects that relate to creativity and imagination like art, design, literature, etc. And get higher grades in those courses. Another longitudinal study also presents an intriguing phenomenon. Based on their surveys among the top 100 famous designers and artists in the 21st century, 85% of these creative talents' studios and offices are not neat and tidy. The reason these talents give is that a relatively messy environment is an ideal incubator for novel ideas since you never know when will you come up with an idea that appears on the juxtaposition between two random papers or irrelated items.

Admittedly, many people may say how could a successful person has an untidy room and disorganized capability. And then they might draw a conclusion that all the successful people are well-organized on the domestic scale as well as in their business success since they transplant their good habits into other fields that make them successful. But what I want to address is that this is a slope in the logic chain. Students who keep their room neat don't necessarily lead organized behavior in other fields. And also, a well-organized habit doesn't necessarily guarantee a bright future. For instance, as a teacher with 10-year experience in education, I witnessed many students who can manage their rooms very well. Some of them did have strong logical thinking and a sense of discipline, which seems like an advantage. However, I noticed that sometimes they make their room clean just because they enjoy doing so or they like immersing themselves in chores without bothering the surrounding. If success means better academic performance, I don't see any obvious difference between tidy students and relatively disorganized students.

To sum up, the factors that lead to success are diverse. We cannot simply bridge a direct link between a person's success and his or her cleaning ability.