Do you agree or disagree with the following statement A teachers ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

It is known that teaching and learning are crucial aspects of knowledge building. It is a complex process that also englobes an appropriate environment with students and teachers relating respectfully and well. Although this good relationship is important, I strongly refute the idea that a teacher’s ability to relate well with students surpass the importance of excellent knowledge. I fell this way for the following reasons.

Firstly, if teachers do not pose high level of knowledge students will not be able to learn effectively. Consequently, once knowledge building is compromised, they will not excel high grades at school or at university. Besides, they will not have enough knowledge to develop critical thinking, broad conceptual ideas and special skills, which are basic aspects of the learning process.

Secondly, once these students become professionals, serious consequences may happen to society. For example, if an engineer wrongly plans a highway due to his lack of knowledge or skills, terrible accidents and a lot of deaths may happen. Furthermore, the lack of a qualified workforce would promote nefarious impacts on the local and global economy, which could lead to starvation, unemployment and an increase in overall prices.

Finally, it is known that the reputation of educational institutions around the world is based on their outstanding faculty members and alumni who pose high knowledge, skills and curriculum with impressive research and didactic experience. This is because high knowledge stimulates the advance of science and new discoveries, which impact society directly. For example, the development of new drugs, treatments and all scientific discoveries which impact our lives depend on excellent professors who teach students to excel their best skills.

To sum up, I strongly believe that although the ability to relate well is important, it is not more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught because it is the driven force of learning process and development of skills necessary for society’s welfare.