Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim and the reason given for this claim are compelling, since only defending an idea against all possible disapproval and convincing those who have contrasting perspective will indeed show us the tested merit and value of this idea.

An argument is a statement based on reasons and evidence that act to support it. If an argument is able to convince someone with a contrasting point of view, it would prove that the reasons and evidence that support the argument are strong enough and cogent. For example, when someone convince a vegan that this kind of diet could be harmful and it is not necessarily healthier based on reliable researches, such as one that utilized a sample comparing identical twins into a vegan and normal diet for twelve weeks. This study proved that veganism could change human body and cause a reduction of muscular mass, sexual appetite and body self-defense or general immunity. Furthermore, causing an increase of tiredness and irritability.

Moreover, when we have to defend an idea against possible flaws and divergent views and we are able to surpass all of it, it shows us the excellent value of that idea. This is because it proves that the idea is plausible. However, if the logic of the argument is invalid or unsound it does not make a cogent case that will convince others. For instance, utilizing the given study we could defend the idea that although veganism could diminish the diabetes risk and cholesterol levels, it would impair and affect the human body negatively based on the reliable results of the study. This shows the value of the argument that vegan diet could be harmful and it is not necessarily healthier.

To sum up, the argument´s ability to convince someone with distinct point of view is the best way to measure its plausibility, since developing reasons and a cogent reasoning to support this view against contrasting ones will prove the great value of this argument.