Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts

It is known that teaching and learning are pivotal factors of knowledge building. Concepts are more general and need to be understood, while facts are specific and are usually memorized. I agree with the given statement that it is crucial for students to understand ideas and concepts than just learn facts.

Learning facts is usually a quick process accomplished by memorization. For this reason, it last very short because we easily forget something we memorize quickly. For example, when we memorize a subject the day before a test, we would easily forget the content maybe unfortunately before the test and what is worst we simple do not learn about the subject.

However, understanding concepts is a long process made by gathering information and making connections. It is necessary to make mental maps and a lot of reasoning to understand an idea. Since this process is long and harduous, it will last long in our minds, maybe for entire life. For example, when we study for a test and it seriously, we collect information from a wide variety of sources and put it all together from our own words, making a lot of reasoning and understanding the subject. This is how we learn for real, therefore, I believe that effective learning process require understanding of concepts.

Furthermore, it is necessary a lot of critical thinking in order to develop broad conceptual ideas. Students need to develop their skills and knowledge about certain field. For instance, when a test question is a factual question maybe everybody, including those who memorized the content the day before, will answer the question. But conceptual questions are only solved by those who are able to think critically. Consequently, those students who are able to think critically will develop their skills better and will be prepared for the job market in the future.

To sum up, I believe that it is crucial for students to understand concepts than just learn facts because they will realy learn about the subject and consequently will develop their skills and be prepared for job opportunities.