Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

I agree with the statement that television advertisements aimed at children aged two-five years should not be allowed. I think this is for three reasons which I will describe in the following paragraphs.

First of all, young children are not mature enough like adults to distinguish what is good and what is harmful to them. They cannot determine the advantages and disadvantages of a particular product. In fact, they are not even old enough to understand the advertisement. Thus, having television advertisements aimed at children will do no good. For example, a five-year-old child cannot understand an advertisement on child diapers. Similarly, he cannot understand a commercial on nutritional powder milk for young kids.

Secondly, if the children won’t understand the advertisements directed at them, then I think it would be unwise for the companies to spend on these commercials as it won’t profit the company in any way. Instead, they could spend this money on something else which can truly prove beneficial for the company. Instead, they could spend they could spend that money on the development of a new and more improved product.

Lastly, some of the television advertisements which are not beneficial for young children might influence them to get the product. This might pose a task for the parents as they will have to convince their adamant kid who is deeply influenced by the ad that they cannot buy the product for them. In some cases, television advertisements promote products to children which are not a necessity such as some type of toy. Now, some parents cannot afford to buy every toy which their child view on the television. So, they have to face a lot of difficulties while convincing their kid.

To sum up, I think that it is not wise to allow television advertisements for young children as it might cause more harm overall and fewer benefits.