Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Traditional ways of celebrating holidays are much less important today than they were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We live in an age where the use of technology and social media has caused the merging of cultures from all over the world, so much so that our own traditions are being forgotten. Therefore, it is important now, more than ever before, to celebrate holidays the traditional way.

With the vast use of social media, we have the advantage of being highly connected with people all over the globe. This has facilitated communication, through which, along with other factors, traditions from other countries have found their way into ours. Our culture today is highly influenced by the Western one. We dress, talk and eat the same way as they do. With time, this may cause future generations to forget their culture and traditions altogether.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with foreign cultures and it is encouraged to be accepting of them, however, it does not mean we completely replace our culture with theirs. Since we already follow the western culture on a daily basis, be it for its practicality or to simply follow the lifestyle everyone else has, it seems appropriate to follow our own traditions on holidays and special events. Of all days of the year, it seems prudent to keep traditional holidays sacred in order to preserve our culture. This is also the time when the elders of the house are adamant on celebrating in accordance with the tradition, which is why younger generations are obliged to don traditional clothes, exchange traditional greetings and eat local food. The coming together of all these elements can help us celebrate holidays the way they were celebrated by our ancestors and indirectly helps keep the culture alive while also providing entertainment to everyone.

In short, safeguarding traditions is very important in an era where our culture is endangered by cultural globalization, and celebrating holidays traditionally is the best way of doing so.