Some people like to do only what they already do well. Other people prefer to try new things and take risks. Which do you prefer?

I prefer trying new things and taking risks as opposed to sticking to doing things that I am already good at. Everyone's preference would be different depending on factors such as their risk appetite and risk tolerance. Although I am not much of a risk-taker myself, I understand the importance of learning new skills, especially since we live in a fast-paced and ever-changing world.

The biggest reason why I wish to experience new things is so that I can be prepared for the future. For example, new technology is being introduced everyday and is quickly changing the workplace. People are expected to be computer-savvy now more than ever before. With the disruption that new technology, such as AI and 3D-printing is bringing into the industry, it is important that we equip ourselves with skills that will enable us to secure our jobs in the future. For this reason, I have been studying courses, such as data analysis and coding, alongside university ever since I completed high school.

Independence is another reason for trying new experiences. For instance, at the moment I do not know how to drive and depend on others to take me to my destinations, such as the grocery store. This arrangement has its own problems. If the person is busy, I would have to wait until they are available, which can cause delays and also annoy the person if I constantly ask them to drive me somewhere. Although I am too afraid to sit behind the wheel, I know I need to learn how to drive if I wish to be more independent. This is why I have reluctantly decided to attend a driving school as soon as possible

Lastly, I believe that by giving ourselves the chance to attempt new things, we provide ourselves with the opportunity to find areas we are good at. For instance, a person who is good at painting may only want to stick to painting traditionally, i.e. using paints, water/oil and paintbrushes. The idea of digitally creating art may not be appealing to them. However, if they attempt to use technology to create their art, they may realize that they are good at it and may experiment with new techniques and styles as well.

To sum up, I believe in taking risks and trying activities that we are unfamiliar with. Who knows what we might uncover? We may find a new hobby or a skill we did not know we had the potential to be good at. It also allows us to be more self-sufficient and might allow us to stay up-to-date with the constantly changing world.