Some people like to do only what they already do well. Other people prefer to try new things and take risks. Which do you prefer? give specific reasons and examples to support your choice

I prefer to try new things and take risks rather than do what I already do well. I would prefer this for the reasons which I will explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, doing things which you already know might eventually get boring as you know it very well and you won’t have any challenges to look up to when you do it. When you try out something new, you might face a challenging situation that will make it enjoyable. I want to give an example from my own experience. I am very much good at algebra. There is no question which I couldn’t solve. But, later, I got bored doing algebra and didn’t feel like doing it, so I started trying calculus questions which are very challenging for me. I still struggle with it, but I enjoy doing it.

Furthermore, trying new things will make a person develop proficiency in more than one arena. Yes, no doubt that when you try something new, you will have to work hard to master it, but you might gain an additional skill. This can be an advantage to you from a career perspective. Also, people always love an all-rounder. Drawing from my example, I have always been terrific in academics, but sports is a big no. However, in grade 11, I joined basketball classes and decided to give it a shot. Now, I am a professional basketball player, and I play in state-level competitions.

Lastly, I think that people who are always ready to try new things other than doing that with which they are comfortable can adapt to changes better. It is easier for them to adjust to a new country, school, or office. It is also easier for them to adapt to new colleagues at the workplace because they embrace changes without any hesitation. Also, those people who do things that they already know might miss out on some great things in life.

To sum up, people should get up from their comfort zones and try out new things and take risks in life.