Some parents forbid young children from owning smartphones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

I think that children should not own smartphones for various reasons which I will explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, I think that smartphones will destroy their childhood because smartphones can be very addictive just like video games so if they own smartphones then they might miss out on many things. They will not play outdoors with their friends and childhood is the age to run around in the parks with friends and play outdoor games. No doubt that smartphones help to keep in touch with friends, but smartphones are also very addictive to make kids stop making memories with their friends. They might get stuck in the life of selfies and Instagram videos, trying to live up to the social media expectations. I don’t think that we want children to experience all of that.

Furthermore, I think that children should use the internet under an adult’s supervision because it is important to make sure that they are not exposed to violent and inappropriate content on the internet as they are not mature enough to make decisions for themselves. So, if they start to own cellphones with the internet, then it will be difficult to supervise their internet activity. Since they will own smartphones, they can use the internet anytime, without their parent’s supervision. They might get exposed to things that are harmful to them.

Lastly, I think that if children start owning cellphones and get addicted to it, then they might stay full time in front of the screen which can damage their eye vision. I have an eight-year-old cousin who owns a smartphone who wears glasses bigger than mine. I have never seen her play with friends. In fact, you will find her online on social media all the time.

To sum up, I think that children should not own smartphones because it can destroy their childhood. They can use their parent’s cellphone to keep in touch.