Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today are much better informed about international news that they were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout ages, news has been spread through a variety of mediums, through word of mouth, newspapers, radio, news channels and recently through news sites and social media. Having a variety of sources of information, people are better informed than they were in the past.

Long before the advancement of technology, news was usually limited to a specific region and only major news from around the world made it into the local newspaper. People usually depended on personal accounts to receive information about the events taking place in a foreign region. Now, with through the use of social media and online news sites, we can easily access international news from anywhere in the world

The debut of news sites, news channels and especially social media, has given us instant access to up-to-date information. Many news channels make use of the live transmission feature offered by video sharing companies such as YouTube, along with telecasting on their TV channels. This means that we can see events as and when they are happening. Besides this, we can watch recorded videos of these events at a later time if we do not catch the live broadcast. Unlike in the bygone days, we do not have to wait for a daily newspaper to receive news, much of which was dated to the previous day.

In short, I strongly believe that today's generation is better informed on the current events taking place all over the globe. The expansion of news channels to news sites and online live broadcasting, along with social media has helped achieve that. While the authenticity of news is still in question, there is no doubt that people today are more up-to-date with international news .