Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The current century has indeed witnessed a rapid growth in tecnology, so much so that people have even considered the possibility of commercial space travel as something not very far away. There has been major innovations in the mode of transports as well, with high-speed bullet trains already open to public use and Tesla-made transporation pods undergoing rapid testing and developments under the supervision of Elon Musk, the so-called real-world 'Iron Man'. However, I do not foresee a shift in the usage or number of cars in the next twenty years. I do believe that the technology involved would undergo tremendous tranformations, but i dont agree with the fact the the numbers would reduce. And here are my reason.

Firstly, despite of the development of high speed transport, I believe that rapid evolvement in technology is more focussed on making a car more efficient rather than completely replacing it with another mode of transport. For example, if you see this from the lens of ecological conservations, tremendous efforts are being channeled into replacing the fuel used with Lithium ion batteries, rather than increasing incentives to use public transport and stop buying cars. Companies like Tesla are more concerned with coming up with more and more efficient electric vehicles, and even incentivising people to buy them. Even the cabs are going electric!

Secondly, another are where technology is being channeled into is making the cars autonomous, and again, Tesla seems to be at the forefront. Complicated Neural Network-based models and custom chips being developped by the company have even fast-tracked the production porcess and people eagerly wait for Tesla events to get a glimpse of the first fully-autonomous self-driving car. Many other companies,like Waymo, have also followed suit and are rapidly working towards developing self-friving cares using LiDAR technology. When you create this much hype of an enormously improved version of a car among people, I highly doubt that the demand would go down in the next twenty or even fifty years.

My third argument, although not as strong as the two mentioned, would be on the general improvement in standards of living globally. With more number of high paying jobs and more disposable income in the hands of the working class, I beleive that poeple would definitely consider having perosnal modes of transporation. Also in times where there are pandemics,like the Covid-19 and Black Fungus, taking the entire world by shock, and social distancing creeping its way in the form of the 'new normal', I believ there would be lesser incentivces to take public transports and car pools to work.

So to summarise, even though there are proponents of the the other side who voice that increase in the number of cars would be detrimental to the environment and that there should be more incentives to use public transport, I stronlgy believe the exact opposite. Technology is rapidly solving this long-standing issue of eco-friendly fuel usage and the global health crisis is supplementing to the fact that people would prefer more cars on the road rather than risk safely and health.