Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Two people can still become good friends if one of them has more money than

the other one does.

One of the most integral needs of humans is being in a relation with others; since friends compose the most part of our relations, it is important to have good friends. While some people believe that different folks could make a good friendship even they are worlds apart from wealth aspects, others think that having a lot in common is necessary to have a stable and long-lasting fraternity. I personally believe that it is hard to make a good relation between two people from diverse aspects such as wealth difference. In what follows, I will elaborate on my reasons.

First, common interests and attitude join friends strongly. The more similarity between folks, the more chance to make a good and healthy rapport. We as humans, based on the Maslow’s hierarchy of needs, have multitude needs which differ in any stage of our development. A person with a specific age and financial situation has a unique attitude which differs from the other person’s one in different levels. Therefore, people who are so different from one of these factors cannot understand folks from other social strata, which prevent them to be good friends. For example, in all my school years, I have not seen a couple of folks from different wealth social strata who they were close friends. It seems that being wealthy or not affects how people think about friendship.

Second, wealthy people have some specific behaviors which are not tolerable for many of the usual people. Hence, as a rule, they face many difficulties to make a good relation, even though there is always an exception. Generally, wealthy people are so arrogant and they tend to show their superiority complex to others. Middle-class folks or lower-level guys, even they are not wealthy, they have their pride, and they cannot swallow their pride just because they do not have a lot of money. This discouraging attitudes separate those guys from each other. To put it into perspective, One of my classmate, in Boston university, was from an aristocratic family, who has an inclination to show his wealth to everybody, at the very first of our acquaintance we attempted to be a good friends. However, when time passed, he showed his true colors; and whenever we had a conversation, he spoke his mind. This habit hurt his friends one by one, and at the end of the year nobody from our general class could tolerate his personality. As we see, for any reason, there is a small chance that a wealthy person and a low-income guy could make an intimate friendship.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that people who are wealthy and poor could not be a good friends for a long time. This is because that they have different attitudes, diverse needs, and unsimilar behaviors and because they could not bear each other as well as good friends.