Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Universities should require every graduating students to take public speaking courses Give specific examples and details to support your answer

Many people may have had experiences speaking in public. We often face situations to talk in front of many people. Even as students and adults, we have to do it. Speaking skills also have a lot of influence in our daily life. What if universities make all students take public speaking classes? I disagree with ‘Universities should require every graduating student to take public speaking courses.’ for the following reasons.

Firstly, it could be a waste of time. Not all jobs require public speaking ability. People with jobs that do not require public speaking skills do not have to spend time and money. It would be more economical and efficient if they spent time and money on their jobs and aptitudes. So it could be an act of wasting someone’s time and money.

Secondly, This class may have a negative impact on some people. It can be fatal, especially for those who are introverted and do not like to talk. The process of making presentations and grading people when they do not want to do so will only cause more damage to someone. Therefore we should consider that when universities should require every graduating student to take public speaking courses, there will be people who will suffer as much as those who will be effective.

Lastly, There are more economical and effective private education than standardized university classes. If it is cheaper and more effective, is it necessary to spend a lot of money on college classes? Recently, more efficient learning is possible due to the variety of teaching methods and media used, such as video and phone classes.

Accordingly, I object to ‘Universities should require every graduating student to take public speaking courses.’ I think it is a more desirable way for desired universities to selectively implement it. The quality of the classes will also go up if only desired universities implement it. Only those who need it, not their duties, should be chosen to achieve the happiness of the maximum number of people.