Do you agree or disagree with the following statement At universities and colleges sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

In modern society, achievements and grades in study are not the only evaluation criteria for students, meeting certain standards in sports and social activities is also important. Universities today are not only places for studying, but also a place where students make comprehensive developments. Therefore, it is rigid that sports and social activities should not receive equal financial support as well as classes and libraries in universities.

Surely, doing well in study is of great importance to students, so they need better classes and libraries. There is almost no other way of accumulating knowledge without attending classes or reading books. Good classes are favored by so many university students for they know they could learn useful skills in those classes. Besides, we all acknowledge the convenience of a particularly nice library for it provides us with abundant quantities of books. However, all the benefits of gorgeous classes and libraries do not mean that we should put it prior to other facilities for that all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.

To be a student who is all-round development, health cannot be absent. A good health condition is the foundation of students’ excellence in study. For example, if the university’s gym equipment is deficient for students to exercise and freshmen will not even know how helpful a healthy body is to good study. Schoolmen will always feel exhausted when they have studied for a long time without a good physical condition built up by enough exercise. On the contrary, a university with great sports facilities is almost forever an obsession with all the students because they will be stronger along with outstanding studies.

Social activities are also an independent part of students’ lives because new friends who may change their lives are always made through those activities. Taking part in a competition with a team may help students win so many friends who have the same pursuit as them as well as prizes. Students can also be inspired by talented competitors and start learning from them to be a better person. Also, attending social activities can help students improve their social abilities and broaden their horizons. It is awful that a college does not give enough financial support to social activities and students cannot enjoy themselves in parties, competitions and clubs.

Both sports and social activities are of great importance to students’ lives, and all such things need the same financial support as classes and libraries.