Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In modern society, study and grade will not be the only measurement scale of students for a long time, but sports and social activities are also important standards the students have to meet. Universities today are not only a place for studying, but also for helping students have comprehensive development. Therefore, it is important that sports and social activities should receive equal financial support like classes and libraries in universities and colleges.

To be a student who is all-round development, health cannot be absent. Without a healthy body, students cannot study well and have great grades. For example, when I was a freshman in university, I did not know how helpful a healthy body is and I did not exercise without enough gym equipment at my university. At that time, I always feel very tired when I have studied for a long time. But a semester later, my university built a swimming pool with great equipment and a happy atmosphere. Then I began to go swimming twice a week and I started to enjoy swimming at that time. As time goes by, my body becomes healthier and my study becomes easier without getting tired. That is why I think sports need enough financial support.

Social activities are also an independent part of students’ lives because they may make new friends who may change their lives through those activities. There are also so many other reasons such as attending social activities can help students improve their social abilities and broaden their horizons. My college has given enough financial support to the social activities and you can see the students in our school can enjoy parties, competitions and organizations. Last time I joined a team which took part in a competition about Chinese medicine knowledge and I was really inspired by my team members for their knowledge. This time I won many friends who have the same pursuit as me as well as I won the prize.

Both sports and social activities are of great importance to students’ lives, and all of them need the same financial support as classes and libraries.