Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Students learn quantities of new ideas and concepts which can help them understand the world well in the school, but that does not mean such things are more important than facts. Learning facts can broaden students' horizons and help them keep up with changes around the world, so they will adjust to the circumstances immediately when they go to work.

To deal with different kinds of things well in our daily life, we have to understand ideas and concepts which can be learned in school classes, such as biology classes and math classes. In our daily life, we bargain with the seller in the supermarket by using some mathematics theories learned in math classes. Such knowledge also plays an important part in our future work for we always have to count numbers to ensure the companies' program goes well. Nowadays, all over the world is suffering from the terrible virus which is called covid-19. We protect ourselves by not going outside and keep enough distance with each other which had been learned in biology classes. Although such situations we have never experienced before, we can also handle these things well with ideas and concepts learned in the school.

We have to think highly of ideas and concepts, but that does not mean we should look down upon facts, because the whole world consists of facts and all the human world based on facts. If a student does not know facts well, he or she may not be able to do anything in the future. To help patients, doctors have to know the anatomy and physiology of the human body and all kinds of diseases resulting in unhealthy. To win a lawsuit, lawyers must recite all the laws and regulations. To teach students more knowledge, teachers would remember all the historical events on the timeline. Even defeating the covid-19, we also need knowledge of immunology and structure of virus. However, the knowledge mentioned before is all facts. Besides, ideas and concepts are also facts in so many science and engineering courses. For example, the law of momentum conservation and Newton's three laws in physics are both concepts and facts. We use these theories flexiblely in our life without minding what kind of knowledge they are.

Generally speaking, both facts, ideas and concepts are of great importance in our work or our life, so we have to treat them equally.