Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many students argue that sports and social activities are less important and they should have less financial support compared to classes and libraries and cite that running classes and library is more expensive. However, I disagree with this argument. I strongly believe that sports and social activities are equally important and should have similar financial support. Following paragraph will support my viewpoint.

First of all, sports and social activities has large fund demands because of the expensive equipment, travelling of players and volunteers, food, accommodation and, other expenses. For example, one of my friend play badminton for the collage team and he needs good racket, clothing, diet and money to travel for competitions. It is really very hard to manage all this expenses on his own and he depend on sports department for grants. Similarly, I do volunteer work for marginalized kids of society and in order to give them free education, food, and clothing, we require a large amount of fund. We teach these kids for free but, often we need money to accumulate volunteer and mobilize them. Because social activity and sport is an important part of society, it need equal appreciation and financial support. If we stop funding these programs, a society can not run properly. Thus, I think that sports and social activities are equally important and should have appropriate financial support.

Secondly, a nation’s growth not only determine by education and innovations but sports also play a key role in establishing it’s good image as well. For example, United States of America is not considered developed nations, only because of it’s great economy and high tech universities, but also because of the level of their players and the game they play. In the history of Olympics, they have the biggest medal tally, and this reflect their all-round development. Only by focusing on education, a nation can not become a superpower. It is important to understand that social activities make us more considerate toward our society and inspire us to give more than taking from it, and sports play a key role in our personality development. Cumulatively, these two accounts for personal, societal, and national growth. So in my view sports and social activities should be given equal importance and have appropriate financial support.

To conclude, there are many people who posits that the financial support to sports and social activities should be equal to classes and library but the importance should be given more toward the later. Nonetheless, I still contend that both are equally important and should have equal financial support.