Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believe that in twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than of today. They think that the increasing awareness among people toward environment would be the main reason for this. However, I strongly disagree with this and assume that there will be more cars in the upcoming years. I will support my viewpoints for two reasons.

First of all, there are many countries where the economy is thriving and they are fast moving toward becoming a developed nation. This means that there will be an upliftment in the per capita income and it directly linked this to more purchase of motor vehicles. For example, in countries like India, more and more automobiles companies are investing because of presence of a large market and each year country is witnessing more record sales of automobiles. In the absence of such a strong economy, public is more reliable on public transportation. Usually a strong economy means a better public transportation system, but it also means that people will ask for more comfort and privacy and because of this, I think that there will be more cars in the upcoming future.

Second of all, new renewable energy, like electric and hydrogen fuel powered engines, will inspire more people to buy automobile and taste the newer experience coming with such cars. Inadequate availability of such car demotivate people from buying old traditional diesel/petrol fueled engine cars. But, many countries are investing large capital on electric and hydrogen fuel, the overall cost of such cars will decrease drastically. For instance, a decade back, buying an electric car was so expensive, but today there are many companies providing affordable electric cars. Tesla is such an example of it. These cars are often quiet, have low running cost, and can reach to a high speed quickly. Thus, there will be more demand for cars in the coming twenty years.

To conclude, the assumption regarding the number of cars on the road in the coming twenty years is highly debatable. Some people suggest governments should make public transport more efficient. Nevertheless, I still contend that there will be more cars in use in the coming twenty years.