Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Universities play a crucial role to equip students with a potent weapon called knowledge. Some people believe that universities should allocate more budgets for educational matters such as classes and libraries which can augment students’ knowledge undoubtedly. Others take the opposite view point. In my opinion, universities should allot equally their budgets for both academic matters and non-academic affairs such as sports and social activities. Non-academic facilities improve students’ physical and mental health and enhance their social interactions skills.

University is a place where students enter to achieve both knowledge and skills in various aspects of life. It wouldn’t be enough if students have been provided with only academic facilities such as libraries and classes. They need to spend a deal of their time to social activities such as attending to different workshops and exercising at gym. Not only guarantee these activities their physical and mental health but also increase their efficiency in learning subjects. Recent studies have shown that there is a strong correlation between the brain’s function and learning process. As physical activities would transfer more oxygen to the brain and produce more energy to the whole body. Moreover, social activities can reduce boring during uninteresting classes. When I was freshman student, difficult core classes like mathematic made me boring and exhausted, so to undertake my challenging courses I attended at theater group’s university which made me more energetic and euphoric. Today’s world doesn’t need single-task people who just develop one aspect of life such as sheer knowledge. Therefore universities should provide services for students to participate in workshops, social groups and sport programs.

Social interaction is always a challenge. Enhancing students’ social skills is a necessary part of the university’s goals. As students after graduating should be prepared to tackle critical responsibilities in society and they also should be qualified to hold a deserve job. Nowadays, companies would hire employees who are accomplished at both technical knowledge and social skills. Therefore, universities should pay attention to the social activities as much as educational affairs. The best example that comes to my mind is when I was a student, I was too shy. I couldn’t able to present my lecture in front of students and teacher. This lack of confidence made my grade low significantly. In addition, I couldn’t express my opinions when all classmates and I communicated with each other in friendly meeting. So, one day I decided to participate in a social behavior workshop at university. After that, not only my confidence has been increased significantly but that workshop also helped to improve my scores. Conclusively, social activities at university benefit students either their job’s future or their scores at university.

To sum up, universities should provide a place where students can develop their both knowledge and social skills to become more valuable to the society in the future. So, this is crucial that both educational matters and social activities are considered equally in terms of financial supports due to sports and social activities will have been improved students’ health and communication abilities.