Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should require students to study many subjects in different fields rather than just their major subjects.

Univerities are where studnets learn the most important skills/knowledge of their lives. Different majors with different curriculums help students with their future carrier. I am sure that many people might agree with having more focused schedules to concentrate better on their major. However, I know many other people who believe studying more subjects help students in many ways. In my view, students should study many subjects for two major reasons.

First, studying variety of subjects help students with finding a job or graduate school. I remember when I was a student in pharmacy school, I used to complain about the amount of different and irrelevant courses that I had to take to graduate. I never understood the value until I started looking for a graduate school. I was not successful to find a graduate school in pharmacy major, however, since I had taken so many chemistry courses, I managed to get acceptance from three graduate school. It was so shocked that they also offered me a very good scholarship not only enough to pay for my tuition and fee but I can afford my living expenses. Another example comes to my mind to illustrate this is my friend's sister who also went to a pharmacy school in Iran. She found a job in a pharmaceutical company's marketing group. I don't think she would be able to find that job if she did not have so many marketing and management courses. As a result of this, she is planning to pursue her PhD in marketing at UT Dallas.

Second, I think studying many subjects may help students to find different interests. At my current graduate school, SMU, undergarduate students are supposed to choose a minor along with their major. Sometimes this gives undergarduate students an opportunity to rethink their major. There is a student in my lab whose major was accounting but his minor was marketing. After taking variety of courses that SMU offers he switched his major to marketing. This opportunity helped him substantially with finding his interest.

To sum up, I think it is beneficial to have study many subjects. I suggest students to attend schools that offer many subject in their major rather than just focused subjects.