Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? "Universities should give the same amount
of money to their students’ sports activities as they give to their university libraries. Use specific
reasons and examples to support your opinion."
Funding for athletic programs at colleges and universities is a very controversial issue these days. Some
people believe that universities should fund libraries and educational facilities rather than sports teams,
while others feel that the opposite is true. I am of the belief that universities should provide more funding
for athletics. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.
To begin with, most universities offer identical academic programs, and are only able to set
themselves apart from the crowd through the popularity of their sports teams. These days there are
hundreds of universities across the United States which are almost entirely interchangeable. Only a very
select few Ivy League schools are known to be better than average. It may seem somewhat arbitrary, but a
sports team can help such middling schools stand out from the crowd and attract new students. For
example, my cousin is a very average student. When he graduated from high school a few years ago, he
chose to attend California State College based solely on the fact that he loves basketball and that school is
known for its on-court success. This may seem superficial, but it mattered a lot to him, and according to
recent surveys he is not the only student who chose to attend for this reason. The college earned his
loyalty as a result of the care and attention it has paid to its athletic program.
Furthermore, sports are very profitable and are a good source of revenue in today’s precarious
economic times. Schools across the nation are facing a funding crisis, but they still need to build facilities
and dormitories for new students. University sports are a huge business in America, and are even more
popular than professional sports in a lot of areas. These teams can generate money for their schools
through corporate sponsorships, ticket sales, licensing and broadcast agreements. These profits can then
be used to pay for academic facilities, including libraries. This type of operation does not always seem the
most idealistic thing for a university to do, but it certainly is a pragmatic solution to some of the problems
that schools face today.
In conclusion, I strongly believe that colleges should provide more funding to their sports teams than
they do to their academic facilities. This is because sports help universities stand out in a crowded market
of schools, and because the profits they generate can be used to fund other programs.