Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should require every graduating students to take public speaking courses. Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

There are various mandatory courses needs to be completed in-order to graduate from the university. I agree that public speaking course should be one of them that would lead to a graduation. I feel this way for one significant reason which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, one of the main advantages of possessing public skill is that it will increase the chance of getting hired in an employment interview. Most of the students after university graduation, they will look into employment prospects and wanted to earn as quickly as they can. Hence, the most essential component of getting employed would be an interview process which could be either telephone interview or in person interview with the board. Speaking is one of the significant skills for an interview. Nowadays, almost every job posting has a prerequisite of asking for an employee with effective communication skills. Hence, if a job seeker mentions that he/she completed public speaking skills, then they will get through the first step of interview process. Majority of hiring process are based on how well an employee put forward his/her competency orally in the interview. Hence, in this situation, speaking skills play a significant role to persuade the interview committee in securing a job. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was studying under graduate study, most our classes are were based on discussions, debates and seminars. As a fresh graduate from a high school, I was so afraid to speak in front of the people. Luckily our university had a public speaking club called toastmaster which I enrolled. As a result, I learned how to overcome many difficulties such as fear of miscommunication, nervousness and anxiety. In addition to that, I also struggled how to organize speaking topic while considering the purpose and the audience. With ample of practise lessons I was able put forth a effective speech when we had practise section in our speaking club. As a result, all these speaking skills came handy when I had my interview to be hired as a marketing employee. Because of the speaking skills, I was able to get hired at my first interview and now I enjoy my career as marketing manager at an well reputed company with high end salary.

In conclusion, university is a place where it prepares future employees in which public speaking course would play a major role in securing a job without wasting any time after graduation.