Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should require every graduating students to take public speaking courses. Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

Public speaking is quite important in somebody’s life. Public speaking can get one a job or can help with everyday life. I personally think that it would be beneficial to learn public speaking as a graduation student, but some people think otherwise.

First of all, I think it would be good to learn public speaking as a graduate student, because it can help you get job. One example would be my uncle. He got a good job, because he was very good at speaking. His job now is presenting things for his company so but I asked him if he ever got nervous and he told me that he does not, because he learned public speaking before when he was a graduate student. This example shows that public speaking can help you get a job.

Secondly, I believe that public speaking could not only get you a career, but can also help you in your career. Public speaking helps you communicate with others, and can even build up your confidence. My example of this is when my sister was learning debate. She is not a graduate student, but learning debate, which is also a form of public speaking. This helped improve her social communication, and built up her confidence with many things.

Finally, the reasons I think learning public speaking while being a graduate student is helpful, is because it helps you with everyday life. There are a couple reasons why public speaking helps with everyday life, but I believe the two most reasonable answers are that it helps control your thoughts and emotions, Furthermore, it helps you with social skills such as being on the phone with someone. One example of public speaking helping someone in these ways are situations when someone from a different country goes to another foreign area. They always have to adapt and learn a new language, and when they do, they always make new friends using their new language.

I believe learning public speaking skills in graduate school is helpful in many ways such as everyday life, getting a career, and help you in your career. I think public speaking is very important all the time.