Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should require every graduating students to take public speaking courses. Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

Thanks to the expansion of education, a large number of youngsters today receive a better education that equips them with the necessary knowledge and profound skills to achieve their personal ambition in the future. I believe that public speaking should become a compulsory course for college students. I feel this way because of two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the public speaking class can improve students’ overall performance of all curriculums. Currently, more and more teachers attach great importance to evaluating the overall ability of students. Consequently, there is an increasing number of occasions under which students are required to give presentations as the final tasks of the curriculums. By taking the public speaking course, students can improve their confidence in speaking in public and promote their skills of giving out speeches, which would benefit their final performances. An eloquent speech could always earn a high score. For instance, my roommate, Mike, who used to be too shy to speak in front of the class, took an online speech course during summer break. When it comes to the next semester, we were all surprised by his confident and excellent discourse at the final presentation of a chemistry class and he got the best score in our class owing to his impressive speech. Hence, taking a public speaking course would render great help to students who are struggling with their poor speech skills and lack of confidence.

Secondly, being indispensable to students’ future careers, communication skills could also be cultivated in public speaking courses. By taking the speaking courses, college students could lay a solid foundation of communication and acquire knowledge about how to accurately convey the key information within the limited time. With the development of society, companies nowadays usually prefer the graduates who possess efficient communication skills which fit the requirements of the fast-paced working environment. Student would not become competent candidates in the job market after graduation without the ability of conducting high-efficiency conversation. Therefore, students can get themselves well-prepared before graduation to meet the prerequisites of their future employers by taking courses in public speaking.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that offering a public speaking course and requiring all students to take it is good for students. This is not only because students could obtain the skill of speech which would also benefit their performance in other curriculums, but also owing to the important communication skills that student could learn during the course, which ensure them a promising career in the future.