Do you agree or disagree?Primary school teachers should not give children (5-10) assignments more than 30 minutes, because there are enough instructions to learn in regular school classes.

In recent years, the competition of education is becoming so fierce that even children in primary school have no alternative but to face the heavy pressure of the study. However, I believe that it is unnecessary for students to do too much homework after school, and the total time spent on assignments should be no more than 30 minutes. I feel this for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, it is inappropriate for teachers to assign excessive assignments to students. Both physically and psychologically, children are not capable to bear the overwhelming workload of study. Because children at a young age have a limited attention span, they would feel difficult to concentrate on finishing the homework for more than 30 minutes at night and the low learning efficiency would discourage their study interest as well. Moreover, doing over 30 minutes of homework means excessive use of eyes and a long-hour sedentary position which would harm the children's health in the long run, causing short eyesight and physical illness. For instance, being too told to study for extra hours after school, students usually have to spend more time recovering from the tiredness. Besides, the time spent in school during the day is enough for kids to master what had been taught since the knowledge that students are quired to impart is limited in primary school.

Secondly, the time at night should be used on meaningful activities rather than doing homework. Owing to nature, primary school students are fond of exercise, game, and company from their parents. These activities are essential for the mental development of kids. For example, playing chess is an excellent choice to spent the night hours. Kids can not only improve their intelligence unconsciously but also enhance their relationship between parents through interaction. Exercise is another choice to satisfy children’s nature in which they can promote their physical strength and release the study pressure. Therefore, by spending time on meaningful choices, parents can ensure their children’s mental and physical development which are very important in their future life.

In conclusion, I claim that the children should not spend more than 30 minutes on assignment and use precious time at night on activities that benefit their mental and physical health.